The Nishina Memorial Foundation invites you to nominate candidates for the Eighth Nishina Asia Award in 2020.

The Nishina Asia Award has been established in 2012 as one of the activities of the Nishina Memorial Foundation (<a href="https://www.nishina-mf.or.jp/index\_e.html">https://www.nishina-mf.or.jp/index\_e.html</a>) to recognize an outstanding achievement by young Asian scientist in the field of basic physics. The Award will be granted to one person every year. A medal and monetary prize of JPY 400,000 will be awarded to the winner. The winner will be invited to the award ceremony on December 7, 2020, and to visit various universities and institutions in Japan within 2 weeks, giving talks on the work recognized in the award. The travel expenses will be covered by the Nishina Memorial Foundation.

The intent of this award is to recognize and to inspire a young Asian scientist in the early part of his or her career. Candidates are only accepted up to 15 years after the completion of their PhD. Based on this limitation, any persons from Asia (excluding Japan), who are working in Asia and have contributed significantly to the field of basic physics, are eligible for consideration. The award winner will be chosen by a selection committee, and he or she will be announced in August 2020.

The First Nishina Asia Award in 2013 was awarded to Dr. Shiraz Minwalla, Professor, Department of Theoretical Physics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, India for "his seminal work which uncovered the deep relation between the equations of fluid dynamics and Einstein's equations of general relativity". The Second in 2014 was awarded to Dr. Yuanbo Zhang, Professor, Department of Physics, Fudan University, China, for "his outstanding contributions to the elucidation of electronic properties of monolayer and bilayer graphene". The Third in 2015 was awarded to Dr. Ke He, Associate Professor, Department of Physics, Tsinghua University, China for "his outstanding contributions to the first experimental realization of the quantum anomalous Hall effect". The Fourth in 2016 was awarded to Dr. Seok Kim, Associate Professor, Seoul National University, Republic of Korea, for "Evaluation of Supersymmetry Indices of M2 and M5 Brane Theories". The Fifth in 2017 was awarded to Dr. Hongming Weng, Professor, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China for "his theoretical contributions to the discovery of Weyl semimetals". The Sixth in 2018 was awarded to Dr. Yu-tin Huang, Associate Professor,

National Taiwan University, Taiwan for "his contributions to uncovering

hidden symmetries and structures in S-matrix of gauge and gravity theories." The

Seventh in 2019 last year was awarded to Dr. Chao-Yang Lu, Professor, Physics Hefei

National Laboratory for Physical Science at Microscale, University of Science and

Technology of Chine for the outstanding contributions to quantum information science

with single photons,"

Nominations of candidates are now being solicited. Nominators are requested to send

to the Nishina Memorial Foundation a letter of nomination (a nomination form is

available on our website), and a copy of one most significant publication. Self-

nomination is not accepted. Nominations should be sent to the following address by

either a regular mail or an e-mail (e-mail is preferred).

Please help us to choose an outstanding young Asian physicist by making a

nomination for this Award. In case that you re-nominate the same candidate, you can

identify the name of the candidate in the nomination form by omitting other materials

unless you have any additions.

Sincerely yours,

Dr. Makoto Kobayashi,

President of the Nishina Memorial Foundation,

2-28-45 Honkomagome, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-8941, JAPAN

Email: nishina-nomination@nishina-mf.or.jp

Website: https://www.nishina-mf.or.jp/index\_e.html

Nomination deadline: March 31, 2020