# The Prize Winner of the 2021 (the ninth) Nishina Asia Award

The Nishina Memorial Foundation has determined that the 2021 (the ninth) Nishina Asia Award is awarded to Dr. Wang Yao, Chair Professor, Department of Physics, the University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR, China for "his pioneering contributions to valleytronics in two-dimensional semiconductors and van der Waals heterostructures."

Curriculum Vitae of

# Wang YAO

Citizenship: China

## **Current Appointments:**

Chair Professor, Department of Physics, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR, China (from Jul. 2019)

#### Past Appointments:

Professor, Department of Physics, The University of Hong Kong (Mar. 2017 – Jun. 2019)

Associate Professor (tenured), Department of Physics, The University of Hong Kong (Jul. 2014 – Feb. 2017)

Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, The University of Hong Kong (Sep. 2008 – Jun. 2014)

Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Physics, University of Texas at Austin (Aug. 2006 – Aug. 2008)

### Education:

University of California, San Diego (Sep. 2001 – Jun. 2006)

Degree: Ph.D. in Physics

Thesis: "Theory of Quantum Control of Spin-Photon Dynamics and Spin Decoherence in

Semiconductors"

Advisor: Prof. Lu Jeu SHAM

Peking University, China (Sep. 1997 – Jun. 2001)

Degree: B.S. in Physics

#### Honors and Awards:

RGC Senior Research Fellow (2021)

Fellow of American Physical Society (2020)

Croucher Senior Research Fellow (2020)

Clarivate Highly Cited Researcher (2018, 2019 & 2020)

OCPA Achievement in Asia Award (Robert T. Poe Prize) (2014)

Croucher Innovation Award (2013)

