Nishina Asia Award

Considering that the Nishina Asia Award has achieved the intended purpose, we have decided to discontinue the NAA. We would like to seek a new program to promote international exchanges. The NAA was established in 2012 as one of the activities of the Nishina Memorial Foundation to recognize outstanding achievements by young Asian scientists in the field of basic physics, and to inspire them in their early part. Over the past decade, however, scientific performances of Asian countries in basic physics have been remarkably strengthened, and with this, the inspiration power of this award has been gradually weakened to lead our decision to discontinuation. We would like to heartily appreciate your excellent help over the last ten years in nominating outstanding young Asian physicists for this Award. We commit to memorizing the past ten distinguished winners as shown below together with their citations.

2022 (Tenth)

Year Recipients Affiliation Citation
2022Dr. Suvrat Raju

Professor, International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bengaluru, India “his original and influential insights into the resolution of the black hole information paradox and the principle of holography in quantum gravity.”

The citation in AAPPS Bulletin Vol. 32, issue 1, Dec 2022 click here

2021 (Ninth)

Year Recipients Affiliation Citation
2021Dr. Wang Yao

Chair Professor, Department of Physics, the University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR, China “his pioneering contributions to valleytronics in two-dimensional semiconductors and van der Waals heterostructures.”

The citation in AAPPS Bulletin Vol. 32, issue 1, January 2022 click here

2020 (Eighth)

Year Recipients Affiliation Citation
2020Dr. Ying Jiang

Boya Distinguished Professor, International Center for Quantum Materials, School of Physics, Peking University, China his seminal contributions to the understanding of structure and dynamics of interfacial water on the atomic scale.

The citation in AAPPS Bulletin No.5 2020 click here

2019 (Seventh)

Year Recipients Affiliation Citation
2019Dr. Chao-Yang Lu

Professor of Physics, Hefei National Laboratory for Physical Science
at Microscale, University of Science and Technology of China
his outstanding contributions to quantum information science with single photons.

The citation in AAPPS Bulletin No.5 2019 click here

2018 (Sixth)

Year Recipients Affiliation Citation
2018Dr. Yu-tin Huang

Associate Professor, National Taiwan University, Taiwanhis contributions to uncovering hidden symmetries and structures in S-matrix of gauge and gravity theories.

The citation in AAPPS Bulletin No.5 2018 click here

2017 (Fifth)

Year Recipients Affiliation Citation
2017Dr. Hongming Weng

Professor, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, Chinahis theoretical contributions to the discovery of Weyl semimetals.

The citation in AAPPS Bulletin No.5 2017 click here

2016 (Fourth)

Year Recipients Affiliation Citation
2016Dr. Seok Kim

Associate Professor, Seoul National University, Republic of KoreaEvaluation of Supersymmetry Indices of M2 and M5 Brane Theories

The citation in AAPPS Bulletin No.5 2016 click here

2015 (Third)

Year Recipients Affiliation Citation
2015Dr. Ke He

Associate Professor, Dept. of Physics, Tsinghua University, Beijing, Chinahis outstanding contributions to the first experimental realization of the quantum anomalous Hall effect.

The citation in AAPPS Bulletin No.5 2015 click here

2014 (Second)

Year Recipients Affiliation Citation
2014Dr. Yuanbo Zhang

Professor, Dept. of Physics, Fudan University,
Shanghai, China
his outstanding contributions to the elucidation of electronic properties of monolayer and bilayer graphene.

The citation in AAPPS Bulletin No.5 2014 click here

2013 (First)

Year Recipients Affiliation Citation
2013Dr. Shiraz Minwalla

Professor, The Dept. of Theoretical Physics,
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
his seminal work which uncovered the deep relation between the equations of fluid dynamics and Einstein’s equations of General Relativity.

The citation in AAPPS Bulletin No.5 2013 click here