Nishina Asia Award

Call for nominations: the Fifth Nishina Asia Award in 2017

The Nishina Memorial Foundation invites you to nominate candidates for the Fifth Nishina Asia Award in 2017.

The Nishina Asia Award has been established in 2012 as one of the activities of the Nishina Memorial Foundation to recognize an outstanding achievement by young Asian scientist in the field of basic physics. The Award will be granted to one person every year. A medal and monetary prize of JPY 400,000 will be awarded to the winner. The winner will be invited to the award ceremony on December 6, 2017 and to visit various universities and institutions in Japan within 2 weeks, giving talks on the work recognized in the award. The travel expenses will be covered by the Nishina Memorial Foundation.

The intent of this award is to recognize and to inspire a young Asian scientist in the early part of his or her career. Candidates are only accepted up to 15 years after the completion of their PhD. Based on this limitation, any persons from Asia (excluding Japan), who are working in Asia and have contributed significantly to the field of basic physics, are eligible for consideration. The award winner will be chosen by a selection committee, and he or she will be announced in August 2017.

Nominations of candidates are now being solicited. Self-nomination is not accepted. Nominators are requested to send to the Nishina Memorial Foundation a letter of nomination (a nomination form is available below) and a copy of one most significant publication by either a regular mail (Address: 2-28-45 Honkomagome, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-8941, JAPAN) or by an e-mail (Address: (e-mail is preferred).

Please help us to choose an outstanding young Asian physicist by making a nomination for this Award. In case that you re-nominate the same candidate, you can identify the name of the candidate in the nomination form by omitting other materials unless you have any additions.

Nomination deadline is on March 31, 2017

Asia Award 2017 nomination form

Nishina Asia Award 2016

2016 (the Forth) Nishina Asia Award is awarded to Dr. Seok Kim, Associate Professor, Seoul National University, Republic of Korea, for “Evaluation of Supersymmetry Indices of M2 and M5 Brane Theories”

Nishina Asia Award 2015

2015 (the Third) Nishina Asia Award is awarded to Dr. Ke He, Associate Professor, Dept. of Physics, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China, for “his outstanding contributions to the first experimental realization of the quantum anomalous Hall effect.”

Nishina Asia Award 2014

The Nishina Memorial Foundation has determined that the 2014 (the Second) Nishina Asia Award is awarded to Dr. Yuanbo Zhang, Professor, Dept. of Physics, Fudan University, Shanghai, China, for “his outstanding contributions to the elucidation of electronic properties of monolayer and bilayer graphene.”

Nishina Asia Award 2013

The Nishina Memorial Foundation has determined that the 2013 (the First) Nishina Asia Award is awarded to Dr. Shiraz Minwalla, Professor, The Dept. of Theoretical Physics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, for “his seminal work which uncovered the deep relation between the equations of fluid dynamics and Einstein’s equations of General Relativity.”